MAULANA MAZHARUL HAQUE ARABIC AND PERSIAN UNIVERSITY Patna was established under the provisions of the Bihar State Universities Act. 1976 (as amended by Bihar Act.9, 1992) with effect from 10 April 1998 (vide MHRD, Govt. of Bihar notification no. 1998 dated 22 November 2006). The Jurisdiction of this University is whole of Bihar and it is recognized under 2(f) of the UGC Act 1956. The University is enrolled as a member of Association of Indian Universities (AIU) New Delhi with effect from December 2009.

In its legacy the University has eight Vice Chancellors, namely Prof. M. Ahmad Arzoo, HoD of Arabic, Aligarh Muslim University (10/04/1998---------), Prof. M. Sharaf-e-Alam, HoD of Persian, Patna University, Patna (14/05/2004 to 14/05/2007), Shri V.S. Dubey Ex-Chief Secretary of Bihar and Jharkhand, (Additional Charge 18/05/2007 to 24/01/2008), Prof. Qamar Ahsan, HoD, Economics A.N. College, Patna, Magadh University, Bodh Gaya, (25/01/2008 to 24/01/2011), Prof. Md. Shamsuzzoha, HoD, Arabic, Patna University, Patna (25/01/2011 to 20/03/2013), Dr. E.L.S.N. Bala Prasad, IAS, Divisional Commissioner, Patna (Additional Charge 27/04/2013 to 23/07/2013) and Prof. Syed Jalil Ahmad, Deptt. of English B.N. Mandal University, Madhepura, (27/07/2013 to 31/01/2014). Prof. (Dr.) Ejaz Ali Arshad former Head, P.G. Dept. of Urdu, Dean, Students' Welfare and Dean, Faculty of Humanities, Patna University, Patna (01/02/2014 to till date)

Prof. Qamar Ahsan made his purposeful effort to make this University functional by starting the first academic session on July 3, 2008 and organized the first Convocation on 22nd December 2010. Prof. Md. Shamsuzzoha started regular courses at undergraduate level in Arabic, Persian, Urdu, English, under the Dept. of History, Language & Culture in the Headquarters and conducted the second Convocation on 22 December 2012. Dr. E.L.S.N. Bala Prasad (IAS) got sanction to start eight postgraduate departments and some translation courses in the university headquarter.